Village of Newburg, Wisconsin

FILE NO. 2020-10

A RESOLUTION / ORDINANCE CHANGE ESTABLISHING NEW TERMS FOR APPOINTED MEMBERS OF PUBLIC SERVICE BOARDS.

Offered by Trustee Burkard.

WHEREAS, the Village of Newburg has various citizen committees and commissions created for the purpose of citizen involvement and input in village affairs; and WHEREAS, village elected officials begin staggered terms in April of each year

and commission and committee memberships expire at the end of each term, thus

causing organizational stress and the potential for enduring vacancies on public service

villages' business and priorities before appointing and confirming citizen members to

WHEREAS, village elected officials current term of service of one year for

government services and the public would be better served by allowing elected officials

appointment terms (barring resignations or removals) to endure until the end of their

appointments, regardless of length of elected term, is not conducive to efficient

WHEREAS, by rescheduling the term end dates for citizen members of public

7 8 9

10

11

12

13

1

2 3

4 5

6

service boards to coincide with a June 30th end date, new Village Presidents and Trustees will have time each April to step into office, become acclimated, and sort the

boards; and

such boards; and

elected terms; and

14 15

16 17

20 21

22

18

23 24 25

26 27 28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35 36

37

19

WHEREAS, except for a public board whose membership consists entirely of non-elected membership, public boards should be chaired by a person seated in elected office; and now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED, the Board of Trustees amends village ordinance §32.04 with the following changes, showing deletions with a strike and additions with an underline:

§32.04 BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

(A) Board of Review; membership. The Board of Review shall consist of five (5) members plus an alternate: the Village President, who shall serve as the chair, Village Clerk, three Village Trustees and one alternate Village Trustee. The Village Trustee members shall be appointed for a one year term-the duration of their elected term, by the Village President, subject to confirmation by the Village Board. The Village Assessor shall attend all meetings of the Board of Review.

(B) Plan Commission.

- (1) The Plan Commission shall have seven (7) members. The members shall 38 consist of a minimum of three (3) citizen members of recognized experience and 39 40 qualifications who are not city village officials, plus at least one (1) Trustee. Appointments to the Commission shall be made by the Village President, subject to 41 confirmation by the Village Board, for staggered three-year terms. Terms of citizen 42 members shall end on June 30th and terms of Trustees shall end consistent with the 43 elected term. The Village President shall designate the Chairperson of the Plan 44 Commission, which shall be a Trustee. In addition to the above seven members, there 45 shall be non-voting advisory members to the Plan Commission which may be the 46 Village Engineer/Planner and Village Zoning Administrator/Building Inspector. The 47 Secretary of the Plan Commission (a non-voting position) shall be the Village Clerk or 48 the Village Engineer/Planner. 49
 - (2) The Plan Commission shall have the powers and duties prescribed in Wis. Stats. §§ 61.35 and 62.23, and such other powers and duties as shall be vested in the Commission from time to time by the Village Board.
 - (C) Board of Zoning Appeals.

50

51

52

53

54

55

56

57

58

59

60

61 62

63

64

65

66

67

68

69

70 71

72

- (1) The Board of Zoning Appeals shall consist of five (5) members <u>plus an alternate</u>, appointed by the Village President, subject to confirmation by the Village Board, for staggered terms of three years. <u>Terms of citizen members shall end on June 30th and terms of Trustees shall end consistent with the elected term. One The alternate member shall be appointed by the Village President, subject to confirmation by the Village Board, for a term of three years and shall act only when a regular member is absent or refuses to vote because of interest. The Zoning Administrator shall attend all meetings, upon request, to provide technical assistance as requested by the Board of Zoning Appeals.</u>
- (2) The Village President shall designate the Chairperson of the Board of Zoning Appeals, which shall be a Trustee.
- (3) The Board shall have the powers and duties prescribed in Wis. Stats. § 62.23(7)(e). See also Chapter 155.
 - (D) Police Committee.
 - (1) The Police Committee shall consist of three (3) members, none of whom shall be officers or employees of the village, appointed by the Village President, subject to confirmation by the Village Board, for staggered three-year terms ending on June 30th.
 - (2) The Village President shall designate the Chairperson of the Police Committee.
- 73 (23) The Police Committee shall have the power and duty to discipline the Police 74 Chief and village police officers who are not probationary, in accordance with Wis. 75 Stats. § 62.13(5).

- (E) Administrative Review Appeals Board.
- (1) The Administrative Review Appeals Board shall consist of three (3) members; the Village President, who shall serve as the Chairperson, plus and two citizen members. The citizen members shall be appointed by the Village President, subject to confirmation by the Village Board, for three-year terms, ending on June 30th.
 - (2) See §§ 30.60.

- (F) Parks Commission.
 - (1) The Parks Commission shall consist of five <u>(5)</u> members, including two Village Trustees and three citizen members. The Village Trustees and the citizen members shall be appointed by the Village President, subject to confirmation by the Village Board. <u>The Trustees shall serve one year terms and the citizen members shall serve</u> staggered three-year terms. <u>Terms of citizen members shall end on June 30th and terms of Trustees shall end consistent with the elected term.</u>
 - (2) The Village President shall designate the Chairperson of the Parks Commission, which shall be a Trustee.
 - (3) The DPW Superintendent shall serve as an advisor to the commission.

 The Parks Commission shall, in coordination with the DPW

 Superintendent, develop recommendations for the maintenance and future use planning of the parks.
- (G) Community Center Commission.
 - (1) The Community Center Commission shall consist of five (5) members, including two Village Trustees and three citizen members. The Village Trustees and the citizen members shall be appointed by the Village President, subject to confirmation by the Village Board. The Trustees shall serve one year terms and the citizen members shall serve staggered three-year terms. Terms of citizen members shall end on June 30th and terms of Trustees shall end consistent with the elected term.
 - (2) The Village President shall designate the Chairperson of the Community Center Commission, which shall be a Trustee.
 - (3) (2)The DPW Superintendent shall serve as an advisor to the commission. The Community Center Commission shall in coordination with the DPW Superintendent, develop recommendations for the maintenance and future use planning of the community center, and shall be responsible for planning community center events not otherwise taken up by village staff, and for coordinating volunteer activities necessary for the survival of the community center in the interest of the village residents at large.

120		
121	(H) Emergency Management Committee.	
122 123 124	(1) <u>See § 33.05, 33.06.</u>	
125 126 127 128 129	(/	h each public board to serve or arrange for the publication of agendas and minutes.
130 131 132 133	Passed and adopted by the Village Board of the Village of Newburg, Washington and Dzaukee Counties, Wisconsin, this day of,	
134 135		
136	David DeLuka, Village President	Deanna Alexander, Clerk